Situated between Il Dosso di Lavedo and the Comacine Island, Villa Balbiano is one of the most important historical properties on the shores of Lake Como. The history of Villa Balbiano can be traced back to mid 16th century and is strongly linked to the noble Giovio family who used it as their residence. At the end of 16th century, the Villa was sold to Cardinal Tolomeo Gallio, who redesigned the original palazzo after the drawings of Pellegrino Tibaldi. A century later, in 1787, Cardinal Angelo Maria Durini, politician and patron of the arts, acquired the Villa. Enlarged and embellished, Villa Balbiano was used to host a gallant and frivolous society where festivals, banquets and dances followed one by another relentlessly.
Villa Balbiano has recently been renovated by the famous French designer Jacques Garcia. Occupying over 2ha, it remains one of largest properties around Lake Como. The Villa also boasts the important historical details such as spectacular 17th century frescoes by the Recchi Brothers and Agostino Silva. The property offers accommodation in its six luxury suites in the main palace, which have been furnished with the exclusive collection of antique furniture and objects of decorative arts. Four additional bedrooms in the left wing and five bedrooms in the adjacent Villino are also available. Villa Balbiano is an ideal venue for any kind of events, weddings and seminars.
Villa Balbiano is located in town Ossuccio, Italy, 40 minutes away from the centre of Milan. The major international airports around are Milan-Malpensa (45 minutes drive) and Milan-Linate (70 minutes drive). For private aviation there are 3 options available: Lugano International airport (40 minutes drive), Milan-Malpensa and Milan-Linate.